Classes

Wow… my seminary?

In a word: Awesome.

I had orientation and half a day of classes yesterday, and my first full day today; and I’m really enjoying classes.  I tested into level 2, where the levels are B, 1, 2, and 3, and the rabbi thinks I’ll eventually move up to 3.  So…the morning has us learning in chevruta (pairs) about the Akeidah (the story of the binding of Isaac)…so we’re going through the Hebrew, one verse at a time, and then looking at what all of the famous rabbis who wrote commentary on the Torah had to say about each verse.  Then the afternoon is basically practical classes…yesterday it was the laws of Shabbos, the laws of man-to-man commandments (how to treat each other, basically), today it was the Torah portion of the week and the laws of Succos, a holiday that’s coming up soon.

The people here are awesome, but I’m not really sure how to write about them given that this is a public blog.  I think for now I’m going to use initials…hopefully that won’t get too confusing.

So, the two roommates I started the semester with were AB and SB. I actually barely see AB, but SB and I really hit it off and are having a great time walking to and from sem…oh man, I am definitely going to get in shape this year…the walk is all uphill!

Then I came home last night to find a new roommate, S, on the couch.  From the two conversations I’ve had with her, I’m guessing that S and I are going to be really close…I mean, even in the first few minutes that we talked, we forged a connection, and there’s mutual respect, kindness, etc.  She’s awesome..so G-d willing there’ll be more about her later.

And I woke up this morning to a stranger in the other bed in my room.  R is from Bulgaria and very softspoken, so I think my main concern with her is going to be communication.  She, SB, and I walked to school together this morning and attempted to converse on the way, but the whole uphill thing made that kind of difficult.

So…with me and R in one room, AB and S in another, and SB in the third, the five of us who are expected to be here this semester have arrived.  Let the adventures begin!

And now I am in the computer room with H, another classmate.  She and I are the only two people left in the building, and we’re going to have dinner together tonight.  She, E (who I’ve really not yet spoken to at all), and I have been invited to Shabbos dinner at a neighbor of mine and to Shabbos lunch with Lynn, a teacher at my school.  I’m excited. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Classes

  1. BKop says:

    Sweetheart-
    Yours is such a wonderful alphabet or caring people (like you).
    My impression is that yours will be a joyous time spent studying
    in Israel.
    Each of your blogs is a delight.
    Jerusalem is a much brighter place now that you’re there.

    love ya,

    Dad

  2. Julianna says:

    Totally called it about the placement. 😉 Glad to hear you are getting along with your roommates! Keep us updated. Also there is Hebrew in my facebook status because you wrote Hebrew on my wall for my birthday. =D

Leave a Reply

