Shana Tova Umetuka!

First of all, if there is anyone reading this to whom I need to apologize for some way I’ve wronged them, please contact me so that I can make amends. If you don’t have any of my contact information, then leave a comment with yours.  Comments will bli neder be screened.

Second: Rosh Hashana starts in just over 3 days, and I really don’t think I’m ready.  However, one of my rabbis shared something interesting in his class today:

The Jewish people as a whole will not be wiped out (as has been proven multiple times in Jewish history: after slavery in Egypt, attack by Amalek, Haman’s attempt to destroy us, multiple exiles, pogroms, and the Holocaust, we’re still here).  Therefore, if someone feels that they have not done complete teshuva (repentance), and that they’re not yet on a level that they can (which leaves you kind of hopeless during the Days of Repentance when we are all judged), a way to solve that (though far from ideal) is to become part of a group.  If G-d sees you as a necessary part of a righteous group, rather than just as an individual, then He will judge you as part of that group, with the merits of the whole group, rather than just yourself.  (It’s a gamble, of course, because you have to make sure the group is also comprised of good people.)  So, for example, the rabbi said I was in a good position, being both the librarian of the school and the dorm coordinator of my apartment (two work study jobs)…so, if I were to leave my seminary, my presence would be missed.

This works on a larger scale too–the Jewish people is said to be a righteous group, so if you are a Jew, you are considered to be one of the righteous, or some such.  And it goes back to the previous paragraph, about how the individual and the group need each other for this to work.

And that made me think of the last thing my grandfather said to me before I left for Israel: “You need Israel, and Israel needs you.”  How right he was!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shana Tova Umetuka!

  1. BKop says:

    Sweetheart-
    Thanks for this, for your gentle approach to what seems to some a hard confrontation of life and religion. Your asides always remind me of your close connection to humanity,
    the kindness it reveals that you so readily share.
    Although I know we’ll usher in the New Year in different ways, I still feel your embrace,
    a gift even more special because of our differences.
    As for what Pop told you, I couldn’t agree more. Indeed, all of us benefit from the goodness you manage to translate so well into words.
    Shana Tova!
    With love,
    Dad

  2. Julia says:

    Chanachka Batyenka!!!!!!!!

    Your presence would not be missed simply because you are the coordinator of the dorm or a librarian. I sincerely hope you know that. I mean, when people resort to Origami CBs, you know that you matter! ❤

    In all seriousness, I'm so happy that you are in Israel and am very proud of your learning new things! Have a lovely, sweet New Year and I'm sure we'll talk soon!

    Julia

    • Chana Batya says:

      Thanks for that, Julia. The thing is that that was the rabbi’s point…he specified “necessary” part of the group…not just well-liked or even loved, but having a role important enough that the group can’t function without you. You might have an origami puppet of me, but you don’t actually need to see me on a daily basis in order to function…I hope. 😉

Leave a Reply

